150th Anniversary Events

This is a full, chronological list of our 150th Anniversary events. For a monthly overview please see the Calendar of Events

 

January 2015

Friday 16th January, 2015
Goldsmiths' Hall, Foster Lane, London, EC2V 6BN
Monday 19th January, 2015
Sussex University, Brighton, BN1 9RH
Monday 26th January, 2015
Kings College London, Strand, London, WC2R 2LS
Tuesday 27th January, 2015
Leeds University, Leeds, LS2 9JT

February 2015

Monday 2nd February, 2015
University College London, Gower Street, London, WC1E 6BT
Thursday 26th February, 2015
Exeter University, Prince of Wales Road, Exeter, Devon, EX4 4SB
Friday 27th February, 2015
De Morgan House, Russell Square, London, WC1B 5JS

March 2015

Tuesday 3rd March, 2015
The Royal Society, 6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AG
Thursday 5th March, 2015
Kingston Lane, Uxbridge, Middlesex, UB8 3PH
Monday 16th March, 2015
Durham University, Stockton Road, Durham, DH1 3LE
Thursday 19th March, 2015
University of Oxford, Wellington Square, Oxford, OX1 2JD
Tuesday 24th March, 2015
University of Portsmouth, University House, Winston Churchill Avenue, Portsmouth, PO1 2UP
Friday 27th March, 2015
Surrey University, Guildford, Surrey, GU2 7XH
Monday 30th March, 2015
University of Cambridge, Trinity Lane, Cambridge, CB2 1TN

April 2015

Tuesday 7th April, 2015
Lancaster University, Bailrigg, Lancaster, LA1 4YW
Monday 13th April, 2015
Loughborough University, Epinal Way, Loughborough, LE11 3TU
Tuesday 14th April, 2015
University of Oxford, Wellington Square, Oxford, OX1 2JD
Wednesday 22nd April, 2015
Glasgow University, Glasgow, G12 8QQ
Tuesday 28th April, 2015
Tuesday 28th April, 2015
Norwich Research Park, Norwich, Norfolk, NR4 7TJ

May 2015

Friday 1st May, 2015
Malet Street, London, WC1E 7HX
Friday 8th May, 2015
Loughborough University, Epinal Way, Loughborough, LE11 3TU
Saturday 9th May, 2015
De Morgan House, Russell Square, London, WC1B 5JS
Thursday 14th May, 2015
Old Royal Naval College, 30 Park Row, London, SE10 9LS
Wednesday 20th May, 2015
Oxford Rd, Manchester, M13 9PL

June 2015

Monday 1st June, 2015
London, Oxford, Bath, Glasgow, Lancaster, Loughborough, Leeds, Kent
Wednesday 3rd June, 2015
University of Leicester, Leicester, LE1 7RH
Friday 12th June, 2015
University of Cambridge, Trinity Lane, Cambridge, CB2 1TN
Friday 12th June, 2015
Drake Circus, Plymouth, Devon, PL4 8AA
Wednesday 17th June, 2015
Imperial College London, London, SW7 2AZ
Thursday 18th June, 2015
De Morgan House, Russell Square, London, WC1B 5JS
Thursday 18th June, 2015
University of Oxford, Wellington Square, Oxford, OX1 2JD
Thursday 18th June, 2015
Goldsmiths' Hall, Foster Lane, London, EC2V 6BN
Friday 19th June, 2015
University of Bath, Claverton Down, Bath, BA2 7AY
Friday 19th June, 2015
Claverton Down Road, Bath, North East Somerset, BA2 7AY
Monday 22nd June, 2015
Glasgow University, Glasgow, G12 8QQ
Monday 22nd June, 2015
University of Strathclyde, 16 Richmond Street, Glasgow, G1 1XQ
Monday 22nd June, 2015
Gipsy Lane, Oxford, OX3 0BP
Monday 22nd June, 2015
Strathclyde University, 16 Richmond Street, Glasgow, G1 1XQ
Wednesday 24th June, 2015
Lancaster University, Bailrigg, Lancaster, LA1 4YW
Thursday 25th June, 2015
UCL Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London, WC1H 0AL
Friday 26th June, 2015
Loughborough University, Epinal Way, Loughborough, LE11 3TU
Monday 29th June, 2015
Leeds University, Leeds, LS2 9JT

July 2015

Wednesday 1st July, 2015
University of Kent, Canterbury, Kent, CT2 7NZ
Wednesday 1st July, 2015
University of Warwick, Coventry, CV4 7AL
Friday 3rd July, 2015
BMA House, Tavistock Square, London (nearest tube: Euston)
Friday 3rd July, 2015
Parkgate Road, Chester, Cheshire, CH1 4BJ
Friday 3rd July, 2015
Thornton Science Park, Pool Lane, Ince, Chester, CH2 4NU
Sunday 5th July, 2015
University of Oxford, Wellington Square, Oxford, OX1 2JD
Tuesday 7th July, 2015
University of Warwick, Coventry, CV4 7AL
Monday 13th July, 2015
Herstmonceux Castle, Herstmonceux, East Sussex, BN27 1RN
Monday 20th July, 2015
Loughborough University, Epinal Way, Loughborough, LE11 3TU

August 2015

Monday 17th August, 2015
University of Oxford, Wellington Square, Oxford, OX1 2JD
Saturday 22nd August, 2015

September 2015

Monday 7th September, 2015
Tenby
Monday 7th September, 2015
University of Bradford, Richmond Road, Bradford, Yorkshire, BD7 1DP
Monday 14th September, 2015
Baskerville Hall, Hay-on-Wye, Powys, HR3 5LE
Thursday 17th September, 2015
The Royal Society, 6-9 Carlton House Terrace, London, SW1Y 5AG
Friday 18th September, 2015
Birmingham University, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 2TT
Friday 18th September, 2015
Birmingham University, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 2TT
Saturday 19th September, 2015
De Morgan House, Russell Square, London, WC1B 5JS
Wednesday 23rd September, 2015
Birmingham University, Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 2TT
Wednesday 30th September, 2015
Lancaster University, Bailrigg, Lancaster, LA1 4YW

October 2015

Saturday 10th October, 2015
Carrickfergus
Monday 12th October, 2015
Mile End Rd, London, E1 4NS
Wednesday 21st October, 2015
Glasgow
Thursday 22nd October, 2015
Russell Square, London

November 2015

Wednesday 11th November, 2015
Leeds
Friday 13th November, 2015
Tuesday 24th November, 2015
The Science Museum, Exhibition Road, London, SW7 2DD
Saturday 28th November, 2015
Details to follow.

December 2015

Thursday 10th December, 2015
ICMS, 15 South College Street, Edinburgh, EH8 9AA
Monday 14th December, 2015
University of Southampton, University Road, Southampton, SO17 1BJ
Tuesday 15th December, 2015
Loughborough University, Epinal Way, Loughborough, LE11 3TU

Other Events

Other Events and Activities

The following is a list of events that do not have set dates yet, either due to their ongoing nature or because their dates have yet to be officially decided. Keep checking this page for updates.

Aitken Lectureship

In 2009, the London Mathematical Society and New Zealand Mathematical Society agreed to set up a new lectureship which is named after Professor A. Aitken, one of New Zealand’s great mathematicians.

The Aitken Lectureship occurs every two years (in odd-numbered years) when a mathematician from New Zealand is invited by both Societies to give lectures at different universities around the UK over a period of several weeks.

Steven Galbraith will be the third holder of the Aitken Lectureship. He will visit the UK in the Autumn of 2015. Further details about the itinerary will appear here in due course.

Who's Where in UK Mathematics

Since 1865 the LMS has existed to serve the UK mathematics community. With the intention of furthering this goal, we have recently begun work on a database of UK mathematicians aimed at facilitating communication and collaboration. This database will be launched during the 150th Anniversary year. It is our hope that this project will be of use to those seeking experts in the field, whether for research, degree supervision, paper refereeing, lecturing, or other purposes. If recognised, owned and maintained by the wider mathematics community the database would be extended to provide ongoing anonymised analytical data about UK mathematics to inform evidence-based representation to national funders and policymakers about the health of the discipline and its contribution to the UK economy, including which industries and sectors provide employment to those mathematicians who move away from academia on graduation.

150th Anniversary Edition of the Members' Handbook

In celebration of the membership at the heart of the LMS, the Society will be releasing a special edition of the Members' Handbook, recording the membership as at 2015. This handbook will contain the names of all Society members, along with details of the Society during it's sesquicentenial year. 

150th Anniversary Impact Case Studies

To highlight the ongoing impact of mathematics to UK technology and culture, the Society will be releasing a series of case studies written by prominent academics. These case studies will examine how a specific field or aspect of mathematics has changed the UK, often over decades or even centuries of use. These case studies will be released online via the LMS Website and will vary in length from short, 1500 word essays, to longer, more in-depth examinations of mathematical fields and their widespread effects.

150th Interviews

Details to follow.

Anniversary of Proceedings

Details to follow.

Special Grants and Prizes

Details to follow.

Publications

Details to follow.