

Media release

1 July 2011

London Mathematical Society Prizes 2011

The London Mathematical Society is pleased to announce this year's prize winners:

Pólya Prize – Professor Brian Davies FRS, King's College London Senior Whitehead Prize – Dr Jonathan Pila, University of Oxford Naylor Prize and Lectureship – Professor Bryce McLeod FRS, University of Oxford Whitehead Prize – Dr Jonathan Bennett, University of Birmingham Whitehead Prize – Dr Alexander Gorodnik, University of Bristol Whitehead Prize – Professor Barbara Niethammer, University of oxford Whitehead Prize – Dr Alexander Pushnitski, King's College London

The Council for the London Mathematical Society announced the prize winners at the Society Meeting held at Goodenough College London on 1 July. The awards will be presented at the Society's Annual General Meeting on 18 November.

PÓLYA PRIZE - awarded in recognition of outstanding creativity in, imaginative exposition of, or distinguished contribution to, mathematics within the United Kingdom

The Pólya Prize is awarded to **Professor Brian Davies FRS**, of King's College London, for his remarkable work in spectral theory, including the powerful heat kernel methods that he developed and his work on non-self-adjoint operators.

SENIOR WHITEHEAD PRIZE – awarded in recognition of work in and influence on and service to mathematics; or lecturing gifts

The Senior Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Dr Jonathan Pila**, of the University of Oxford, in recognition of his startling recent work on the Andre-Oort and Manin-Mumford conjectures. The approach he and his collaborators have developed, which combines analytic ideas with model theory, is entirely new and shows great promise for further applications.

NAYLOR PRIZE AND LECTURESHIP – awarded in recognition of work in and influence on Applied Mathematics or the Applications of Mathematics; or lecturing gifts

The Naylor Prize and Lectureship in Applied Mathematics is awarded to **Professor Bryce McLeod FRS**, of the University of Oxford in recognition of his important and versatile achievements in analysis of nonlinear differential equations arising in applications to mechanics, physics and biology.

WHITEHEAD PRIZES – awarded to mathematicians with less than 15 years experience at the post doctoral level (allowing for career breaks)

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Dr Jonathan Bennett**, of the University of Birmingham, for his foundational work on multilinear inequalities in harmonic and geometric analysis, and for a number of major results in the theory of oscillatory integrals.

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Dr Alexander Gorodnik**, of the University of Bristol, for his work on homogeneous dynamics, with particular emphasis on his deep applications to diophantine problems.

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Professor Barbara Niethammer**, of the University of Oxford, for her deep and rigorous contributions to material science, especially on the Lifshit-Slyozov-Wagner and Becker-Doering equations.

A Whitehead Prize is awarded to **Dr Alexander Pushnitski**, of King's College London, for his contributions to Spectral Theory of Partial Differential Operators and, in particular, to the study of the properties of the discrete and continuous spectrum of Schrödinger operators.

ENDS

Notes for Editors

1. The **London Mathematical Society (LMS)** is the UK's learned society for mathematics. Founded in 1865 for the promotion and extension of mathematical knowledge, the Society is concerned with all branches of mathematics and its applications. It is an independent and self-financing charity, with a membership of over 2600 drawn from all parts of the UK and overseas. Its principal activities are the organisation of meetings and conferences, the publication of periodicals and books, the provision of financial support for mathematical activities, and the contribution to public debates on issues related to mathematics research and education. It works collaboratively with other mathematical bodies worldwide. It is the UK adhering body to the International Mathematical Union.

2. The LMS is a member of the Council for the Mathematical Sciences, which also comprises the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, the Royal Statistical Society, the Edinburgh Mathematical Society and the Operational Research Society.

3. Contact: **Dr John Johnston** Mathematics Promotion Unit De Morgan House 57–58 Russell Square London WC1B 4HS. Tel: +44 (0)20 7927 0804. Email: john.johnston@lms.ac.uk