Christopher Zeeman Medal 2020 – Call for Nominations

The Councils of the IMA and the LMS are inviting nominations for the 2020 award of the Christopher Zeeman Medal, which is the UK award dedicated to recognising excellence in the communication of mathematics.

The LMS and the IMA wish to honour mathematicians who have excelled in promoting mathematics and engaging with the general public.  They may be academic mathematicians based in universities, mathematics school teachers, industrial mathematicians, those working in the financial sector or indeed mathematicians from any number of other fields.

Most importantly, these mathematicians will have worked exceptionally to bring mathematics to a non-specialist audience, whether it is through giving public lectures, writing books, appearing on radio or television, organising events or through an entirely separate medium. The IMA and LMS want to celebrate the achievements of mathematicians who work to inspire others with their work.

The award is named after Professor Sir Christopher Zeeman, FRS, whose notable career was pioneering not only in the fields of topology and catastrophe theory but also because of his groundbreaking work in bringing his beloved mathematics to the wider public.  Sir Christopher was the first mathematician to be asked to deliver the Royal Institution Christmas Lectures in 1978, a full 160 years since they began. His Mathematics into Pictures lectures have been cited by many young UK mathematicians as their inspiration.  In recognition of both his work as a mathematician and his contribution to the UK mathematics community, Sir Christopher received the IMA-LMS David Crighton Medal in 2006.

Previous winners of the Christopher Zeeman Medal are Dr Hannah Fry (2018), Rob Eastaway (2016), Professor Marcus du Sautoy OBE (2014), Professor John Barrow FRS (2011) and Professor Ian Stewart (2008).

Nominations are now invited.  These should be made on the Zeeman nomination form 2020 (doc) which includes further details of the award and submission instructions.

Please email any enquiries to Alison Penry, Executive Manager, Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, who can also provide hard copies of the nomination form if required: [ ]

Nominations must be received by 28 February 2020.