Nominations for IMA-LMS prizes

2017 David Crighton Medal

The David Crighton Medal award was instituted in 2002 by the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications and the London Mathematical Society in memory of Professor David George Crighton FRS. The award is made every two years by the Councils of the Institute and the Society. The silver gilt medal is awarded to a mathematician who is normally resident in the mathematical community represented by the two organisations for services both to mathematics and to the mathematical community.

In 2015 the Councils of the Institute and the Society agreed that the frequency of the award should be increased, and the award is now considered biennially by the Councils.  The medal-winner will normally be presented with the award at a joint meeting of the IMA and the LMS, and will be invited to give a lecture.

The David Crighton Medal was awarded in 2015 to Professor Frank Kelly, FRS.  Previous winners of the Medal are Professor Arieh Iserles and Dr Peter Neumann, OBE (2012), Professor Keith Moffat, FRS (2009), Professor Sir Christopher Zeeman, FRS (2006) and Professor Sir John Ball, FRS (2003).

The Councils are now inviting nominations for the 2017 medal award.  These should be made on the nomination form below or available from the Secretary to the David Crighton Committee ( 

Nomination Form (Word)

Nomination Form (PDF)

A full set of the regulations for the medal is available.

The deadline for nominations is 28th February 2017.