SET Student of the Year

The Science Engineering & Technology (SET) Student of the Year awards recognise the achievements of science and technology undergraduates, who are studying in a variety of disciplines.  They are supported by industry and leading scientific and technical institutions.

Each year, the London Mathematical Society, in partnership with the Institute of Mathematics and its Applications, provides judges to assess entries for the mathematics category of the SET Student of the Year Awards.

The winners of the 2014 awards will be announced later in the year.

Previous SET Student of the Year in Mathematics

2013 - William Perry, University of Oxford, for Spin two-dimensional local field theories.

2012 - Josephine French, University of Oxford, for Differential operators on base affine space. (Also winner of the overall all-discipline prize)

2011 - Claire McIlroy, University of Leeds, for Break up of polymeric fluids.

2010 - Natalie Keating, Strathclyde, for: How do Droplets Evaporate?

2009 - Melissa Turcotte, Imperial College, for: Wave Solution to the KdV Equation

2008 - Jenny Spain, Brunel University for The bin packing problem.

2007 - Claire Fairbairn, Durham University for Class Field Theory for Local Fields of Positive Characteristic

2006 - Gabriel Keeble-Gagnere, Imperial College London for Simple groups