LONDON MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY

MINUTES

Of the General Meeting of the Society held on the 30 June 2023 at Mary Ward House, London and via video conference

1.0 OPENING OF THE MEETING

The President, Professor Ulrike Tillmann, welcomed attendees to the meeting, both in person and those joining via Zoom video conference.

2.0 **RESOLUTIONS**

The President introduced the part of the meeting in which Society members would be asked to vote on three items of business.

i) Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 18 November 2022

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 18 November 2022 were agreed as an accurate record.

ii) Appointment of Scrutineers for 2023

Council had proposed that Professor Charles Goldie and Professor Cho Ho Chu be appointed as Scrutineers for the 2023 LMS elections for Council and Nominating Committee.

The proposal was carried unanimously.

iii) Honorary Membership

Council had proposed two Honorary Members be elected in 2023: Professor Mouhamed Moustapha Fall and Professor Raman Parimala. The President read brief citations for each.

It was unanimously agreed to elect to Professor Mouhamed Moustapha Fall and Professor Raman Parimala as Honorary Members of the Society.

3.0 ADMISSIONS TO THE SOCIETY

3.1 At each Society meeting, members of the London Mathematical Society are invited to sign the Members' Book, if they had not already done so. The Members' Book dates from 1865 when the Society was founded and contains signatures of members throughout the years. There were 59 members elected to Membership at this Society Meeting and were admitted to the Society. In addition, 14 members signed the Members' Book.

4.0 ANNOUNCEMENT OF THE LMS PRIZE WINNERS 2023

President Ulrike Tillmann announced the winners of LMS Prizes in 2023. The 2023 winners were as follows.

Polya Prize:	Professor Dame Frances Kiwan FRS
Senior Whitehead Prize:	Professor Agata Smoktunowicz
Senior Anne Bennett Prize:	Dr Eugenie Hunsicker
Naylor Prize:	Professor Jens Eggers
Berwick Prize:	Dr Jian Ding and Dr Ewain Gwynne
Hirst Prize:	Professor Erhard Scholz and Professor Emeritus
Whitehead Prizes:	Dr David Bate

Whitehead Prizes:	Dr David Bate
	Dr Soheyla Feyzbakhsh
	Professor András Juhász
	Professor Mahesh Kakde
	Dr Yankı Lekili
	Professor Marie-Therese Wolfram

The President offered congratulations to the prize winners on behalf of the Society.

5. Frist Lecturer Sir Roger Penrose FRS (Oxford)

Professor Roger Penrose gave a lecture on Non-Computability in Physics.

6. Hardy Lecture 2023 Eva Miranda (UPC Barcelona)

Professor Eva Miranda gave a lecture on from Alan Turing to Fluid computers: Explored and Unexplored Paths.

7.0 CLOSE OF MEETING

- 7.1 On behalf of the President, the Education Secretary Dr Kevin Houston thanked the two speakers for their enthralling lectures. He invited those who were joining the wine reception that followed to be guided by the Executive Secretary, Simon Edwards.
- 7.2 The Education Secretary, Dr Kevin Houston, closed the meeting and thanked everyone for attending.