

LONDON MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY PRIZE REGULATIONS: De MORGAN MEDAL

I. GENERAL

- 1. The De Morgan Memorial Medal award was instituted by the Society in memory of Professor A. De Morgan, its first President. Later Sir Joseph Larmor left a bequest to the Society, the income from which was to be used to augment the Medal Fund.
- 2. The award of the De Morgan Medal shall be considered triennially by the Council of the Society, in those years numbered by a multiple of three.
- 3. No person shall be eligible to receive the Medal more than once.
- 4. The Medal shall be awarded to a mathematician who is normally resident in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on the 1st January of the year of the award.
- 5. The sole grounds for the award of the Medal shall be the candidate's contributions to mathematics.
- 6. Any amendment to these Regulations for the award of the Medal must be made at a regular meeting of Council at which the proposed amendment must receive the support of an absolute majority of those present at the meeting, whether voting or not, in order to take effect.