

## LONDON MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY PRIZE REGULATIONS: FRÖHLICH PRIZE

## I. General

- 1. In 2002 the London Mathematical Society instituted a Fröhlich Prize in memory of Professor Albrecht Fröhlich (De Morgan Medallist 1992). The Fröhlich Fund for this purpose was based on a generous donation from Mrs Fröhlich, reflecting Professor Fröhlich's great enthusiasm for, and gratitude to, the London Mathematical Society.
- 2. The award of the Fröhlich Prize shall be considered biennially by the Council of the Society, in even numbered years.
- 3. No person shall be awarded a Fröhlich Prize more than once. A Fröhlich Prize may not be awarded to any person who has received the De Morgan Medal or the Pólya Prize.
- 4. The Prize shall be restricted to mathematicians who, on 1st January of the year of the award, are either (i) normally resident in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, or (ii) members of the Society mainly educated in the United Kingdom.
- 5. The Prize shall only be awarded to a mathematician who on the 1st January of the year of its award has fewer than 25 years (full time equivalent) of involvement in mathematics at post-doctoral level, allowing for breaks in continuity, or who in the opinion of the Prizes Committee is at an equivalent stage in their career.
- 6. The Prize shall be awarded for original and extremely innovative work in any branch of mathematics.
- 7. Any amendment to these Regulations for the award of the Prizes must be made at a regular meeting of Council at which the proposed amendment must receive the support of an absolute majority of those present at the meeting, whether voting or not, in order to take effect.