

## LONDON MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY PRIZE REGULATIONS: NAYLOR PRIZE AND LECTURESHIP IN APPLIED MATHEMATICS

## I. GENERAL

- 1. In 1976 the London Mathematical Society instituted a Naylor Prize and Lectureship in Applied Mathematics, in memory of Dr. Vernon Dalrymple Naylor.
- 2. The award of the Prize shall be considered biennially by the Council of the Society in odd-numbered years.
- 3. No-one who has received the De Morgan Medal, the Pólya Prize, the Senior Anne Bennett Prize or the Senior Whitehead Prize shall be eligible for the Prize, and no person shall receive the Prize more than once.
- 4. The Prize shall be awarded to a mathematician who is normally resident in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on 1st January of the year of the award.
- 5. Grounds for the award of the Prize shall include: work in, and influence on, and contributions to Applied Mathematics and/or the Applications of Mathematics, and lecturing gifts.
- 6. Any amendment to these Regulations for the award of the Prize shall be made at a regular meeting of Council at which the proposed amendment must receive the support of an absolute majority of those present at the meeting, whether voting or not, in order to take effect.