

LONDON MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY PRIZE REGULATIONS: SENIOR WHITEHEAD PRIZE

I. GENERAL

- 1. In 1973 the London Mathematical Society instituted a Senior Whitehead Prize in memory of Professor J. H. C. Whitehead (L.M.S. President, 1953-1955). The Whitehead Fund for this purpose was made up of contributions from a large number of Professor Whitehead's friends, and a generous donation from Mrs Whitehead.
- 2. The award of the Senior Whitehead Prize shall be considered biennially by the Council of the Society, in odd numbered years.
- 3. No person shall be awarded the Senior Whitehead Prize more than once, The Senior Whitehead Prize may not be awarded to any person who has received the De Morgan Medal, the Pólya Prize, the Senior Anne Bennett Prize or the Naylor Prize.
- 4. The Prize shall be restricted to a mathematician who is normally resident in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on 1st January of the year of the award.
- 5. The grounds for the award of the Prize shall include:
 - (i) work in and influence on and service to mathematics;
 - (ii) lecturing gifts.
- 6. The award is not restricted to mathematicians working in any specific field or area of mathematics.
- 7. The Prize winner shall normally be invited to deliver a lecture to a meeting of the Society within a year of the announcement of the Prize.
- 8. Any amendment to these Regulations for the award of the Prize must be made at a regular meeting of Council at which the proposed amendment must receive the support of an absolute majority of those present at the meeting, whether voting or not, in order to take effect.