

## LONDON MATHEMATICAL SOCIETY PRIZE REGULATIONS: SHEPHARD PRIZE

## I. GENERAL

- 1. The Shephard Prize is endowed by a generous bequest from Professor Geoffrey Shephard of the University of East Anglia, who is a long-standing member of the LMS.
- 2. The award of the Shephard Prize shall be considered biennially by the Council of the Society. The first award will be in 2015.
- 3. No person shall be awarded the Shephard Prize more than once; the Shephard Prize may not be awarded to any person who has received the De Morgan Medal or the Polya Prize.
- 4. The Prize shall be restricted to a mathematician or mathematicians who is/are normally resident in the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland on 1st January of the year of the award.
- 5. The grounds for the award are for making a contribution to mathematics with a strong intuitive component which can be explained to those with little or no knowledge of university mathematics, though the work itself may involve more advanced ideas. Professor Shephard's own work has been concerned with convex geometry and tessellations, and in awarding the prize the Society may show preference for contributions which reflect his interests.
- 6. The Shephard Prize will be awarded in recognition of a specific piece of work. For the avoidance of doubt, there is no requirement that the work in question is published in a journal published by the LMS.
- 7. Any amendment to these Regulations for the award of the Prize must be made at a regular meeting of Council at which the proposed amendment must receive the support of an absolute majority of those present at the meeting, whether voting or not, in order to take effect.