## **Chronological Map of the London Mathematical Society**

Year	President	Significant Society event
1865-66	A. De Morgan	First meeting; <i>Proceedings</i> first published
1866-68	J.J. Sylvester	Move from University College to Burlington House,
		Piccadilly
		Lubbock benefaction establishes LMS library
1868-70	A. Cayley	Election of first honorary foreign member (M. Chasles)
1870-72	W. Spottiswoode	Move to Asiatic Society, 22 Albemarle Street
1872-74	T.A. Hirst	Foundation of La Société Mathématique de France
1874-76	H.J.S. Smith	Rayleigh bequest of £1,000 received
1876-78	Lord Rayleigh	
1878-80	C.W. Merrifield	
1880-82	S. Roberts	First female member (Charlotte Angas Scott)
1882-84	O. Henrici	Foundation of the Edinburgh Mathematical Society
1884-86	J.W.L. Glaisher	First De Morgan Medallist (A. Cayley)
1886-88	J. Cockle	
1888-90	J.J. Walker	
1890-92	G. Greenhill	
1892-94	A.B. Kempe	
1894-96	P.A. MacMahon	Foundation of American Mathematical Society
400400		Jenkins retires as secretary after 30 years
1896-98	E.B. Elliott	
1898-1900	Lord Kelvin	
1900-02	E.W. Hobson	m 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
1902-04	H. Lamb	Tucker retires as secretary after 35 years
1904-06	A.R. Forsyth	
1906-08	W. Burnside	
1908-10	W. Niven	
1910-12	H.F. Baker	With Intermedianal Mathematical Congress (Combaides)
1912-14	A.E.H. Love	V th International Mathematical Congress (Cambridge)
1914-16 1916-18	J. Larmor H.M. MacDonald	Detum to Dunlington House
1916-18		Return to Burlington House
1918-20	J.E. Campbell H.W. Richmond	
1920-22	W.H. Young	
1922-24	A.L. Dixon	
1924-20	G.H. Hardy	Journal first published
1920-28	E.T. Whittaker	Journal Hist published
1928-29	S. Chapman	
1929-31	A.C. Dixon	
1933-35	G.N. Watson	
1935-37	G.B. Jeffery	
1937-39	E.A. Milne	
	•	
		First Senior Berwick Prize (L.J. Mordell)
		· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·
	_	( Arot ( and)
1939-41 1941-43 1943-45 1945-47 1947-49 1949-51	G.H. Hardy J.E. Littlewood L.J. Mordell E.C. Titchmarsh W.V.D. Hodge M.H.A. Newman	First Senior Berwick Prize (L.J. Mordell) First Berwick Prize (A.G. Walker)

1051 50	C T 1	
1951-53	G. Temple	
1953-55	J.H.C. Whitehead	
1955-57	P. Hall	
1957-59	H. Davenport	Klaus Roth wins Fields Medal
1959-61	H.A. Heilbronn	
1961-63	M.L. Cartwright	First female President
1963-65	A.G. Walker	Hardy bequest of £50,000 received
		Foundation of the Institute of Mathematics and Its
		Applications
1965-67	G. Higman	Royal Charter granted
		Michael Atiyah wins Fields Medal
1967-69	J.A. Todd	First Hardy Lecturer (L. Bers)
		Lecture Notes Series and Monographs first published
1969-70	E. Collingwood	Bulletin first published
1970-72	C.A. Rogers	Alan Baker and John Thompson win Fields Medals
1972-74	D.G. Kendall	Newsletter first published
1974-76	M.F. Atiyah	First Senior Whitehead Prize (J.F. Adams)
1976-78	J.W.S. Cassels	First Naylor Prize (M.J. Lighthill)
1978-80	C.T.C. Wall	First Whitehead Prize (P.J. Cameron, P.T. Johnstone)
1980-82	B.E. Johnson	Foundation of the British Society for the History of
		Mathematics
1982-84	P.M. Cohn	First Popular Lectures (K.J. Devlin, M.J. Lighthill)
1984-86	I.M. James	Student Texts Series first published
1986-88	E.C. Zeeman	Simon Donaldson wins Fields Medal
1700 00	2.0. 200man	First Polya Prize (J.H. Conway)
		First Forder Lecturer (E.C. Zeeman)
		Spitalfields Days established
1988-90	J.H. Coates	Nonlinearity first published (jointly with IOP)
1700 70	J.11. Coulcs	History of Mathematics Series established with the AMS
1990-92	J.F.C. Kingman	This ory of mamematics series established with the rivis
1992-94	J.R. Ringrose	
1994-96	N.J. Hitchin	
1996-98	J.M. Ball	Verblunsky bequest of £55,000 received
1770-76	J.M. Dan	Purely electronic <i>LMS Journal of Computation and</i>
		Mathematics
1998-2000	M.J. Taylor	Move to De Morgan House
1990-2000	1v1.J. 1 ay101	Richard Borcherds and Timothy Gowers win Fields
		Medals
2000-02	J.T. Stuart	IVICUAIS
2000-02	P. Goddard	
		E:4 E-21.1; -1. I4 (M I T1)
2003-2005	F.C. Kirwan	First Fröhlich Lecturer (M.J. Taylor)
		Sir Michael Atiyah wins Abel Prize
		Compositio Mathematica first published on behalf of
		Foundation Compositio Mathematica
		First Fröhlich Prize (I.H Grojnowski)
		First IMA-LMS David Crighton Medal (J.M. Ball)
		Mathematics Promotion Unit founded.
2005.05		The Book of Presidents 1865-1945 first published
2005-07	J.F. Toland	Launch of conference facilities at De Morgan House
		First SET Student of the Year Award in Maths (G. Keeble-

		Gagnere) judged by LMS & IMA on behalf of the World
		Leadership Forum.
2007-09	E.B. Davies	First IMA-LMS Christopher Zeeman Medal (I.A. Stewart)
		Journal of Topology first published
		Phillippa Fawcett Collection donated by A.E.L. Davis
		First joint LMS and BCS-FACS Seminar (S. Abramsky)
2009	J.M. Ball	
2009-11	A.J. Macintyre	Matematika first published on behalf of University College
		London
2011 - 13	G.B. Segal	Turing Centenary Celebration Year
2013 - 15	T.J. Lyons	LMS 150 <sup>th</sup> Anniversary Celebration Year (1865-2015)
		Maryam Mirzakhani and Martin Hairer win Fields Medals.
		First Senior Anne Bennett Prize awarded to Caroline Series
		First Anne Bennett Prize awarded to Apala Majumdar
		First Hirst Prize and Lectureship awarded to Edmund F.
		Robertson and John O'Connor.
		First Joint Mathematical Weekend held with the European
		Mathematical Society.
		LMS Prize for Communication awarded to Chris Budd
2015 - 17	S. Tavaré	Sir Andrew Wiles wins Abel Prize