





BACHELIER PRIZE 2018

The Louis Bachelier Prize is a biennial prize jointly awarded by the London Mathematical Society (LMS), the Natixis Foundation for Quantitative Research and the Société de Mathématiques Appliquées et Industrielles (SMAI).

The Prize will be awarded to the winner for his/her exceptional contribution to mathematical modelling in finance, insurance, risk management and/or scientific computing applied to finance and insurance.

The winners are prominent personalities, widely recognized in the academic and professional worlds of quantitative finance and/or risk management. They will have a list of outstanding publications in top quality academic journals in the areas of quantitative finance, insurance, risk management and/or computational methods in finance and be recognized by their peers in academia and industry for their exceptional contribution to mathematical modelling in finance.

Eligibility:

The Prize will be awarded to a mathematician who on the 1st January of the year of its award has fewer than 20 years (full time equivalent) of involvement in mathematics at postdoctoral level, allowing for breaks in continuity, or who in the opinion of the Bachelier Prize Committee is at an equivalent stage in their career.

The Prize aims to recognise a European researcher (defined as a permanent resident in Europe). Nominees must be permanent residents in Europe on 1st January 2018. 'Europe,' is taken as meaning Europe in the geographical sense.

The prize winner will receive €20,000 including £5,000 to organise a scientific workshop in Europe on their area of research interests.

Previous Winners:

- 2016 Damir Filipović, École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne and Swiss Finance Institute
- 2014 Josef Teichmann, ETH Zurich
- 2012 Nizar Touzi (Centre de Mathématiques Appliquées, Ecole Polytechnique)
- 2010 Rama Cont (CNRS)
- 2007 Huyen Pham (University Paris VII)

BACHELIER PRIZE NOMINATION FORM 2018

Please complete one form for \underline{each} candidate nominated **IN CONFIDENCE**

Candidate:
Candidate institution(s):
Candidate country of residence on 1 January 2018 – Nominees must be permanently resident in Europe on 1st January 2018:
Candidate's Year of PhD Awarded – Nominees must have fewer than 20 years (full-time equivalent) on 1st January 2018:
Nominator:
Nominator's email address (to confirm receipt of this form):
Normilator's email address (to commit receipt of diffs form).
Professional relationship of Nominator to Candidate(s) (if any):
Suggested referees (including email addresses):

Checklist		
I confirm that the candidate(s) meets the criteria for eligibility:		
I have attached a copy of the candidate's CV:		
I have attached a copy of the candidate's list of publications:		
PLEASE NOTE THAT NOMINATIONS THAT DO NOT INCLUDE A CV AND PUBLICATIONS LIST WILL NOT BE CONSIDERED BY THE PRIZES COMMITTEE.		
	Continued overleaf	
Nominations are valid for two prize award rounds, provided the nominee continues to meet the eligibility requirements.		

Katherine Wright, Secretary to the Bachelier Prize Committee, The London Mathematical Society, De Morgan House, 57-58 Russell Square, WCIB 4HS Email: prizes@lms.ac.uk Telephone: +44 (0) 20 7927 0801. All nominations made will be acknowledged via email.

Case for Award:		
In this box, explain briefly why the nominee deserves the award (approx. 500 words)		
Signature of Nominator	Date	

Personal data provided on this form may be held and processed on the Society's computers. A summary of the Society's data protection policy, including the rights of subjects upon whom data is held, is obtainable from the Administrator.

Please return this form by 31st January 2018 (marking your envelope 'In Confidence'), to:
Katherine Wright, Secretary to the Bachelier Prize Committee: prizes@lms.ac.uk
Postal address: London Mathematical Society, De Morgan House, 57-58 Russell Square, London WCIB 4HS.

PLEASE NOTE THAT ALL NOMINATIONS RECEIVED WILL BE ACKNOWLEDGED BY EMAIL

Enquiries: +44 (0) 20 7927 0801 email: prizes@lms.ac.uk

The London Mathematical Society is incorporated under the Royal Charter and is a Charity registered with the Charity Commissioners