Honorary Members

Each year, the Council of the Society considers the election of Honorary Members of the Society from amongst distinguished mathematicians who are not normally resident within the United Kingdom.  The election of Honorary Members is made by Council, subject to confirmation by the Society at an Ordinary Meeting.

There is no statutory limit on the number of Honorary Members that can be elected in any year, and there is no constraint on the time or frequency of such elections. 

2014 Honorary Members

The London Mathematical Society has elected Professor Donald Dawson, at Carleton University, USA and Professor Cheryl Praeger, at the University of Western Australia, to Honorary Membership of the Society.

Short citations appeared in the September 2014 issue (No.439) of the Society’s Newsletter:

Full citations for Professor Dawson and Professor Praeger appeared in the LMS Bulletin

Full list of Honorary Members (PDF)