Early Career Research Committee

The Committee is responsible for awarding grants to early career researchers and providing financial support for events aimed at early career researchers.  In particular, the Committee is responsible for disbursing grants for the support of scientific meetings for early career researchers, under such general terms and conditions as Council shall approve and disbursing grants for the support of visits by early career mathematicians to institutions other than their own under such schemes as Council shall approve.

Terms of Reference

The Committee's full terms of reference are available here.

Poster of the Committee's activities. 

An infographic of the Committee's grants & activities is available here.


The Committee assesses applications for grants to support Postgraduate Conferences (Scheme 8)Celebrating New Appointments (Scheme 9)Travel Grants for Early Career ResearchersUndergraduate Research BursariesCecil King Travel ScholarshipsEarly Career FellowshipsLMS Undergraduate Summer SchoolLMS Research Schools, and LMS Research Schools on Knowledge Exchange.


The Committee oversees the programme for the LMS Early Career Researcher Continuing Professional Development sessions.

Annual application deadlines

 Grant Scheme(s)  Deadline date   Decision Date
 14 January  March 
 1 February  April/May
 22 February  March
 22 February   June
15 October  December
 15 November  January



The names, institutions and research interests of current committee members are listed below:

  1. Jelena Grbić (Chair; Southampton), Topology, Homotopy theory, Combinatorics and Algebraic Geometry.
  2. Shabnam Beheshti (QMUL) Geometric Analysis, Mathematical Relativity, PDEs,
  3. Elaine Crooks (Swansea),
  4. Thomas Kempton (Manchester), Dynamical Systems, Ergodic Theory and Fractal Geometry.
  5. Ana Lecuona (CDWM-ECR Liaison; Glasgow), Low-dimensional Topology, Knot Theory, Contact and Symplectic Geometry.
  6. Dan Loughran (Bath), Number Theory and Algebraic Geometry.
  7. Benedikt Löwe (Cambridge); Mathematical Logic and Foundations of Mathematics.
  8. Mariya Ptashnyk (Herriot-Watt),
  9. Ian Short (Climate Working Group Rep; Open University) continued fractions, dynamical systems, hyperbolic geometry. 
  10. Bismark Singh (Southampton), Optimization, Mathematical Programming, Data Analytics, Decision Making under Uncertainty, and Stochastic Optimization.

Dates of Meetings

The Committee meets three times a year: March, June and November/December.