Professor Sir Martin Hairer wins $3m Breakthrough Prize

The 2021 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics has been awarded to LMS member Professor Sir Martin Hairer FRS, for ‘transformative contributions to the theory of stochastic analysis, particularly the theory of regularity structures in stochastic partial differential equations’. The Society would like to extend its warmest congratulations to Sir Martin on receiving this most prestigious award.

Sir Martin is a world leader in the field of stochastic analysis, which provides conceptual and computational methods for rigorously modelling the interactions within high dimensional random systems. His work at the interface between probability theory and partial differential equations has created a body of work that is widely recognised as having revolutionised an entire field of research.

He obtained his first degree in Mathematics at the University of Geneva, where he also studied for his Masters degree and PhD in Physics under the supervision of Jean-Pierre Eckman. After completing his PhD in 2002, Sir Martin moved to the University of Warwick as a Postdoctoral Fellow. He went on to became Regius Professor of Mathematics at Warwick in 2014. Since 2017 he has been Professor of Pure Mathematics at Imperial College London.

Sir Martin has received many distinctions and honours, including the Fields Medal (2014). In the same year he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS) and was awarded the LMS Fröhlich Prize. He received the LMS Whitehead Prize in 2008. In 2019 he was made a substantive Knight Commander of the British Empire. He presented the LMS Popular Lectures in 2015, the Society’s 150th Anniversary year.

Professor Jon Keating, LMS President, commented: ‘The LMS offers its very warmest congratulations to our colleague Sir Martin Hairer on his award of this year’s Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics, which recognises his seminal research in stochastic analysis, his inspirational leadership of the field, and his many contributions to the wider mathematics community’.  

In addition to the six main prizes; six New Horizons Prizes, each worth $100,000 were awarded to three mathematicians and three physicists for early career achievements in their respective fields.

Those who received the New Horizon Mathematics Prizes are Bargav Bhatt (University of Michigan), Aleksandr Logunov (Princeton University), Song Sun (University of California, Berkely).

Three Maryam Mirzakhani New Frontier Prizes of £50,000 each were awarded to Nina Holden (ETH, Zurich), Umila Mahadev (Caltech) and Lisa Piccirillo (MIT).

A total of $18 million was awarded to six researchers for important achievements in mathematics, fundamental physics and the life sciences.

More information about the Breakthrough Prizes and full citations are available here.