Lecture Series

The Society funds three Lectureship schemes:

1. The Forder and Aitken Lectureships

The Forder and Aitken Lectureships are run in partnership with the New Zealand Mathematical Society.

The Forder Lectureship normally occurs every two years (in even-numbered years) when a mathematician from the UK, who is a member of the London Mathematical Society and normally resident in the United Kingdom, is invited by both Societies to give lectures at most universities in New Zealand over a period of four weeks.

The Aitken Lectureship occurs every two years (in odd-numbered years) when a mathematician from New Zealand is invited by both Societies to give lectures at different universities around the UK over a period of several weeks.


2. The Hardy Lectureship

The Hardy Lectureship is named after G.H. Hardy, former President of the Society and De Morgan Medallist. It is normally awarded in even numbered years, to a distinguished overseas mathematician.  The Hardy Lecturer visits the UK for a period of about two weeks, and gives the Hardy Lecture at a Society meeting, normally held in London in July. The Hardy Lecturer also gives at least six other lectures, on different topics, at other venues in the UK.


3. The Invited Lecture Series

The annual Invited Lecturers scheme aims to bring a distinguished overseas mathematician to the United Kingdom to present a small course of about ten lectures spread over a week. Each course of Invited Lectures is on a major field of current mathematical research, and is instructional in nature, being directed both at graduate students beginning research and at established mathematicians who wish to learn about a field outside their own research specialism.