LMS Representatives

The continued health of the Society depends on nurturing and maintaining close contact with its membership. As current Treasurer I have made the development of a vibrant and active network of LMS representatives a priority. Sixty or so members have already agreed to serve in this important role, which is a very positive start. (The names of the current representatives and their universities are listed below.) If there is no representative listed for your institution please contact membership@lms.ac.uk. We aim to have representatives at every higher educational institution in the UK. It is essential that your representatives on Council are kept aware of the challenges and opportunities facing mathematics in the UK so that they can reflect your views accurately.

Although the majority of LMS members are pure mathematicians, the Society exists to serve all branches of mathematics – pure, applied and applicable. The diverse research interests of our Presidents over the past decade make this very clear, and our current representatives have a similar wide range of research interests.

Professor Robert Curtis
LMS Treasurer
 

The Role of the LMS Representative

      Membership

  • Encourage membership
  • Act as Proposer/Seconder and assist in finding aproposer/seconder
  • Encourage local members to vote in the annual LMS Elections
  • Act as a local contact for the LMS

Grants

  • Promote LMS grants to colleagues

Events and Activities

  • Encourage attendance at Regional Meetings
  • Promote LMS events & activities e.g. displaying posters, emails to colleagues

Students

  • Liaise with student societies
  • Encourage membership amongst students

Working with the LMS and other LMS representatives

  • Liaise with LMS Regional Representatives and the LMS Treasurer
  • Work with other LMS departmental representatives
  • Attend an  annual LMS Representatives Meeting at De Morgan House
  • Regular liaison with De Morgan House, requesting support where needed
  • Produce an annual report for the LMS
     

List of LMS Representatives (August 2017)

Regional Representatives

 Region

 Representative

 Institution

 Midlands Regional Rep

 Chris Parker

 Birmingham 

 Northern Regional Rep

 Mike Prest

 Manchester

 South West & South Wales Rep 

 Tomasz Brzezinski

 Swansea

Representatives (listed in alphabetical order by department)

A, B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, M, N, O, P, Q, R, S T, U, V, W, X, Y, Z

Institution

Representative

Email

 Bath

 Johannes Nordstrom

 

 Birkbeck

 Ben Fairbairn

b.fairbairn@bbk.ac.uk

 Birmingham

 Natalia Petrovskaya

n.b.petrovskaya@bham.ac.uk

 Brighton

 Paul Harris

P.J.Harris@brighton.ac.uk

 Bristol

 

 

 Brunel

 Simon Shaw

 simon.shaw89@alumni.imperial.ac.uk

 Cambridge

 Maciej Dunajski

M.Dunajski@damtp.cam.ac.uk 

 Cardiff

 Federica Dragoni

DragoniF@cardiff.ac.uk

 Chester

 Dimitra Antonopoulou

 d.antonopoulou@chester.ac.uk

 City

 Radha Kessar

Radha.Kessar.1@city.ac.uk

 Coventry

 James Griffin

ab8581@coventry.ac.uk

 De Monfort

 

 

 Durham

 Djoko Wirosoetisno

djoko.wirosoetisno@durham.ac.uk

 Dundee

 Raluca Eftimie 

 

 Edge Hill

 Gordon Laing

gordon.laing@edgehill.ac.uk

 Edinburgh

 Aram Karakhanyan

 

 Essex

 Gerald Williams

gwill@essex.ac.uk

 Exeter

 Nigel Byott

N.P.Byott@exeter.ac.uk

 Glasgow

 Brendan Owens

Brendan.Owens@glasgow.ac.uk

 Greenwich

 Tony Mann

A.Mann@gre.ac.uk

 Heriot-Watt

 Anke Wiese

a.wiese@hw.ac.uk

 Huddersfield

 Fionn Murtagh

 

 Hull

 Siri Chongchitnan

 

 Imperial College

 Eva-Maria Graefe 

 

 KCL

 Nicholas Shepherd-Barron 

 

 Kent

 Clelia Pech

 

 Kingston

 Mark Jones

mark.jones@kingston.ac.uk

 Lancaster

 Daniel Elton

 

 Leeds

 Alison Parker

 A.E.Parker@leeds.ac.uk

 Leicester

 Frank Neumann

fn8@mcs.le.ac.uk

 Lincoln

 Evgeny Khukhro

ekhukhro@lincoln.ac.uk

 Liverpool

 Jon Woolf

Jonathan.Woolf@liverpool.ac.uk

 Loughborough

 Anatoly Neishtadt

 

 LSE

 Jan van den Heuvel

jan@maths.lse.ac.uk

 Manchester

 Charles Eaton

charles.eaton@manchester.ac.uk

 Middlesex

 Jon Elmer

 

 Newcastle

 Sarah Rees

Sarah.Rees@ncl.ac.uk

 Northumbria

 Matteo Sommacal

matteo.sommacal@northumbria.ac.uk

 Nottingham

 Martin Edjvet

martin.edjvet@nottingham.ac.uk

 Oxford

 Karin Erdmann

Karin.Erdmann@maths.ox.ac.uk

 Oxford Brookes

 

 

 OU 

 Phil Rippon

p.j.rippon@open.ac.uk

 Portsmouth

 Andrew Osbaldestin

andrew.osbaldestin@port.ac.uk

 Plymouth

 Stephen Huggett

S.Huggett@plymouth.ac.uk

 QMUL

 

 

 QUB

 Martin Mathieu

m.m@qub.ac.uk

 Reading

 Christopher Daw

christophermdaw@gmail.com

 Royal Holloway, University of London

 Simon Blackburn

 S.Blackburn@rhul.ac.uk

 Salford

 Ray Hill

R.Hill@salford.ac.uk

 Sheffield

 Kirill Mackenzie

k.mackenzie@sheffield.ac.uk

 Sheffield Hallam

 Eleanor Lingham

e.lingham@shu.ac.uk

 Southampton

 Jelena Grbic

J.Grbic@soton.ac.uk

 St. Andrews

 Colva Roney-Dougal

colva@mcs.st-andrews.ac.uk

 Strathclyde

 Penny Davies

penny.davies@strath.ac.uk

 Surrey

 Ian Roulstone

i.roulstone@surrey.ac.uk

 Sussex

 Enrico Scalas

 

 Swansea 

 Tomasz Brzezinski

T.Brzezinski@Swansea.ac.uk

 UCL

 Andrea Macrina

 

 UCLan

 Davide Penazzi

DPenazzi@uclan.ac.uk

 UEA

 Jonathan Kirby

jonathan.kirby@uea.ac.uk

 UWE

 Tim Swift

tim.swift@uwe.ac.uk

 Warwick

 Dmitriy Rumynin

 

 York

Niall Mackay