2018 Shaw Prize Winner Announced

The London Mathematical Society (LMS) congratulates Professor Luis Caffarelli (University of Texas at Austin) on his award of the 2018 Shaw Prize in the Mathematical Sciences.

Professor Caffarelli was awarded the Prize for his ‘ground breaking work on partial differential equations, including creating a theory of the regularity for nonlinear equations such as the Monge-Ampère equation and free-boundary problems such as the obstacle problem. Work that has influenced a whole generation of researchers in the field’.

The Shaw Prize is an annual award first presented by the Shaw Prize Foundation in 2004. Established in 2002 in Hong Kong, it honours people working in the fields of astronomy, life science and medicine, and mathematical sciences. The 2018 Shaw Prizes are worth US$1.2m.

More information is available here