2019 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics

The 2019 Breakthrough Prize in Mathematics has been awarded to Vincent Lafforgue – CNRS (National Center for Scientific Research, France) and Institut Fourier, Université Grenoble Alpes, for ‘ground breaking contributions to several areas of mathematics, in particular to the Langlands program in the function field case’. A  total of $22 million was awarded to nine researchers for important achievements in the life sciences, fundamental physics and mathematics.

In addition to the seven main prizes; six New Horizons Prizes, each worth $100,000, were awarded to seven physicists and five mathematicians for early career achievements in their respective fields.

Those who received the mathematics awards are Chenyang Xu (Massachusetts Institute of technology and Beijing International Center for Mathematical Research) for 'major advances in the minimal model program and applications to the moduli of algebraic varieties'; Karim Adiprasito and June Huh (Hebrew University of Jerusalem and Institute for Advanced Study), respectively for 'the development with Eric Katz of combinatorial Hodge theory leading to the resolution of the log-concavity conjecture of Rota; and Kaisa Matomaki and Maksym Radziwill (University of Turku and California Institute of Technology), respectively for 'fundamental breakthroughs in the understanding of local correlations of values in multiplicative functions'.

More information about the Breakthrough Prizes and full citations are available here