LMS 2017 Whitehead Prize winner among new Fellows of the Royal Society

The Royal Society has released details of its newly-appointed Fellows, among whom were LMS 2017 Whitehead Prize winner Jack Thorne (University of Cambridge), Professor Ehud Hrushovski (University of Oxford) and Professor Andrew Stuart (California Institute of Technology). Others elected included computer scientist Professor David Harel (Weizmann Institute of Science) and Professor Hugh Osborn (University of Cambridge). Professor Wendelin Werner (ETH Zurich) was elected a Foreign Member.

Professor Stuart was the recipient of the LMS Whitehead Prize in 2000 and is also the son of past LMS President Professor Trevor Stuart (2000-2002)

The Fellowship of the Royal Society is made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from or living and working in the UK and the Commonwealth. The 51 new Fellows, 10 Foreign Members and one Honorary Fellow have been selected for their ‘outstanding contributions to scientific understanding’.

The London Mathematical Society would like to extend its congratulations to the new Fellows on their election.

The full list of new Fellows of the Royal Society is available here

The Fellows Directory, which has extended biographies of all Fellows, is available here