European Mathematical Society Prizes 2020

The London Mathematical Society (LMS) would like to congratulate the winners of this year’s European Mathematical Society (EMS) Prizes. The 2020 winners include two LMS Whitehead Prizewinners: Professor  Jack Thorne FRS (University of Cambridge and also Dr Ana Caraiani (Imperial College London).

The prize is awarded to ‘young researchers under 35 years of age of European nationality or working in Europe in recognition of excellent contributions in mathematics’. The complete list of winners is: 

·         Karim Adiprasito (Hebrew University of Jerusalem/University of Copenhagen) 

·         Ana Caraiani (Imperial College London) 

·         Alexander Efimov (Steklov Mathematical Institute, Moscow) 

·         Simion Filip (University of Chicago) 

·         Aleksandr Logunov (Princeton University) 

·         Kaisa Matomäki (University of Turku) 

·         Phan Thành Nam (LMU Munich) 

·         Joaquim Serra (ETH Zurich) 

·         Jack Thorne (University of Cambridge) 

·         Maryna Viazovska (EPFL, Lausanne)

The EMS has also awarded the Felix Klein Prize to Arnulf Jentzen (University of Münster) and the Otto Neugebauer Prize to Karine Chemla (Université de Paris and CNRS).

More information is available here.