Mathematicians among new Royal Society Fellows

The Royal Society has released details of its newly-appointed Fellows, among whom were LMS member Professor Richard Jozsa (University of Cambridge), Professor Caucher Birkar (University of Cambridge), Professor Roy Kerr (University of Canterbury), Professor Christopher Hacon (University of Utah), Professor Manjul Bhargava (Princeton University), Professor Akshay Venkatesh (Institute of Advanced Studies) and Professor Peter Haynes (University of Cambridge).

The Fellowship of the Royal Society is made up of the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from or living and working in the UK and the Commonwealth. Up to fifty two new Fellows and ten Foreign Members are announced each year.

The London Mathematical Society would like to extend its congratulations to the new Fellows on their election.

The full list of new Royal Society Fellows is available here

The Fellows Directory, which has extended biographies of all Fellows is available here