Recipients of the Royal Society Kavli Education Medal and Sylvester Medal

The LMS would like to warmly congratulate Professor Alice Rogers OBE on receiving the Royal Society’s Kavli Education Medal 2018, in recognition of her outstanding contributions to mathematics education.

The medal will be formally awarded at the Kavli Education Lecture 2018 and is awarded biennially to honour impact in the fields of science, mathematics or computing education. More information about the Kavli Education Medal is available here.

The LMS would also like to congratulate Honorary Member Professor Dusa McDuff FRS on being awarded the Royal Society’s 2018 Sylvester Medal. The medal, awarded annually to an outstanding researcher in mathematics, is in recognition Prof. McDuff’s work leading the development of symplectic geometry and topology.

Prof. McDuff will receive the medal at the Royal Society’s Anniversary Day in November 2018. More information about the Sylvester Medal can be found here.