LMS Honorary Members 2020

The London Mathematical Society has elected the following people to Honorary Membership of the Society in 2020:

Professor Maryna Viazovska, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

Professor Lauren Williams, Harvard University and The Radcliffe Institute, USA

The brief citations read:

The London Mathematical Society has elected PROFESSOR MARYNA VIAZOVSKA, of École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, to Honorary Membership of the Society. Professor Viazovska is an exceptional mathematician who has produced groundbreaking work on sphere-packing problems in eight and twenty-four dimensions, based on innovative use of modular and quasimodular forms, and who has made major contributions to spherical designs and Fourier interpolation.

The London Mathematical Society has elected PROFESSOR LAUREN WILLIAMS, Dwight Parker Robinson Professor of Mathematics at Harvard and Sally Starling Seaver Professor at the Radcliffe Institute, to Honorary Membership of the Society. Lauren Williams is an exceptional mathematician, an algebraic combinatorialist whose outstanding research includes influential contributions across many fields, including cluster algebras, mirror symmetry, tropical geometry, matroid theory, and integrable systems.

Full citations will appear in the LMS Bulletin.

Full list of Honorary Members (PDF)