LMS-Bath Symposium: Mathematics of Machine Learning

Location: 
Online, hosted by the University of Bath
Start Date: 
Monday 3rd August, 2020 to Friday 7th August, 2020
Meeting Time: 
09:00

 

The event will run Monday, 3 August to Friday, 7 August with sessions starting at 9 am London/BST (4 am New York/EDT, 5 pm Seoul/KST) and finishing about 6 pm London/BST (1 pm New York/EDT, 2 am Seoul/KST). The schedule is now available here

 

Machine Learning (ML) can described as statistical and numerical methods which underpin modern algorithms for detecting patterns and inference. A common theme to many activities in ML today is that mathematical models based on sample data are used to train algorithms to work on real data. Applications include self-driven cars, fraud detection, and recommendations on online shops like Amazon. ML is an emerging field in mathematics, combining hitherto largely separated branches of mathematics under one roof, such as variational methods, numerical analysis and statistics. The conference will bring together people working in approximation theory, inverse problems, optimal transport, multi-scale analysis and statistics, for example.

  Invited Speakers  
  • Jonas Adler, Google DeepMind, UK
  • Simon Arridge, University College London, UK
  • Erik Bekkers, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands
  • Martin Benning, Queen Mary University of London, UK
  • Elena Calledoni, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Coralia Cartis, University of Oxford, UK
  • Yuejie Chi, Carnegie Mellon University, USA
  • Lénaïc Chizat, Laboratoire de Mathématiques d’Orsay, France
  • Stephane Chretien, University of Lyon, France
  • Nadia Drenska, University of Minnesota, US
  • Weinan E, Princeton University, USA
  • Alhussein Fawzi, Google DeepMind, UK
  • Andrew Fitzgibbon, Microsoft Research, UK
  • Anders Hansen, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Varun Kanade, University of Oxford, UK
  • Benedict Leimkuhler, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Sofia Olhede, EPFL, Switzerland
  • Brynjulf Owren, Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway
  • Marcelo Pereyra, Heriot-Watt University, UK
  • Philipp Petersen, University of Vienna, Austria
  • Johannes Schmidt-Hieber, University of Twente, Netherlands
  • Carola-Bibiane Schönlieb, University of Cambridge, UK
  • Aretha Teckentrup, University of Edinburgh, UK
  • Spencer Thomas, National Physical Laboratory, UK
  • Matthew Thorpe, University of Manchester, UK
  • Ivan Tyukin, University of Leicester, UK
  • Pierfrancesco Urbani, Université Paris-Saclay, France
  • Jong Chul Ye, KAIST, Korea
  Further details are available here.