LMS Hardy Lectureship 2023: Professor Eva Miranda (UPC, Barcelona) - Cambridge

CMS, MR9, Department of Mathematics, University of Cambridge
Start date
Meeting Date
Professor Eva Miranda (UPC, Barcelona)

About the Lectureship:

The LMS Hardy Lectureship is named after G.H. Hardy, former President of the Society and De Morgan Medallist. Originally awarded to a distinguished overseas mathematician in odd-numbered years.

The LMS Hardy Lecturer visits the UK for a period of about two weeks, and gives the Hardy Lecture at a Society meeting, normally held in London in July. The LMS Hardy Lecturer also gives at least six other lectures, on different topics, at other venues in the UK; the schedule is decided by the LMS Society, Lectures and Meetings Committee in consultation with the LMS Hardy Lecturer, and is designed to allow as many UK mathematicians as possible to benefit from the LMS Hardy Lecturer's presence in the UK.


Counting periodic orbits

"A mathematician, like a painter or a poet, is a maker of patterns." - G.H. Hardy, A Mathematician's Apology

The trajectory of a satellite that comes back to its origin describes a periodic orbit. The search for periodic orbits has a long story. In the realm of Symplectic and contact topology, it has been guided by two conjectures: the Weinstein conjecture and the Arnold conjecture. In this talk, we will go through the common patterns in this search featuring the revolutionary path inaugurated by Andreas Floer. We will present some recent results for open symplectic manifolds that can be compactified as singular symplectic manifolds. Singular symplectic structures also show up in the space of geodesics of the Lorentz plane and furnish a natural phase space for regularized problems in celestial mechanics such as the restricted 3-body problem.


Eva Miranda is a Full Professor at Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, specializing in Differential Geometry, Mathematical Physics, and Dynamical Systems. She has been honored with several prestigious awards, including two ICREA Academia Prizes in 2016 and 2021, a 2017 Chaire d'Excellence of the FSMP in Paris, a Bessel Prize in 2022, and the François Deruyts Prize in 2022.


To register for this free event, please contact Maciej Dunajski (md327@cam.ac.uk).