Philip Leverhulme Prize Winners 2017

The 2017 Prizes for Mathematics and Statistics have been awarded to Dr Anders Hansen, Dr Oscar Randal-Williams and Dr Carola-Bibiane Schönlieb all of the University of Cambridge; Professor Dominic Vella (University of Oxford) and Dr Hendrik Weber (University of Warwick). The Society congratulates all the award winners, in particular LMS members Dr Oscar Randal-Williams, also a 2017 LMS Whitehead Prize winner and Dr Carola-Bibiane Schönlieb, the 2018 LMS Mary Cartwright Lecturer. 

Philip Leverhulme Prizes have been awarded annually since 2001 in commemoration of the contribution to the work of the Trust made by Philip Leverhulme, the Third Viscount Leverhulme and grandson of William Hesketh Lever, the founder of the Trust. The prizes recognise the outstanding researchers whose work has already attracted international recognition and whose career is exceptionally promising.

In 2017 the Trust offered five prizes in each of the following subject areas: Biological Sciences; History; Law; Mathematics and Statistics; Philosophy and Theology; Sociology and Social Policy. Each of the 30 Prize Winners receives £100,000, which can be used over two or three years to advance their research.

The next awards for Mathematics will be in 2020. 

More information about the 2017 awards is available here