Good Practice Scheme

The LMS Good Practice Scheme was developed with the aim of helping mathematics departments to take practical actions to improve the participation of women and to share examples of good practice with other departments. The scheme also aims to offer support in applying for an Athena SWAN award for those departments seeking recognition for their work in this area.

The scheme is administered by the GPS Steering Group, part of the LMS Committee for Women and Diversity in Mathematics. 

Further information can be found in the Good Practice Scheme Booklet.

GPS Steering Group Members

A. Best (joint Chair), C. Smith (joint Chair), V. Fischer, I. Gordon (LMS Vice-President), A. Hazel (HoDoMS), A-S Kaloghiros, M. Kibble (Isaac Newton Institute), S. Lombardo (CWDM Chair). 

Becoming a Good Practice Scheme Supporter

Read more about how to become a supporter of the Good Practice Scheme here.

Current Good Practice Scheme Supporters

A list of current supporters of the Good Practice Scheme can be found here.

Good Practice Scheme Workshops

The GPS Steering Group usually holds 2 or 3 annual workshops (one in-person) with the aim of embedding good practice to improve the participation of women in mathematics and to share examples of good practice between mathematics departments. 

Read more about Good Practice Scheme Workshops here.

Support for Departments

A list of useful resources for mathematics departments applying for an Athena SWAN award can be found here.

National Benchmarking Study 2017

The GPS Steering Group has published benchmarking information for UK mathematics departments below. The goal of the report was to understand the current status of women in UK mathematics departments, as well as to understand the experience that departments have had with the Athena Swan process. Further help and support for departments can be found by following the 'Support for Departments' link on the left hand menu.

The study was published in December 2018 for years 2011-2015. In 2023, updated data was obtained for years 2011-2022.