Mary Cartwright Lecture

The Mary Cartwright Lecture is an annual event organised by the London Mathematical Society which forms part of the annual programme of Society Meetings. Society Meetings (with the exception of the Mary Cartwright Lecture) are overseen by the Society Lectures and Meetings Committee. The Mary Cartwright Lecture is overseen by the Committee for Women and Diversity in Mathematics.

The event was established by the LMS in 2000 and is named after Dame Mary Lucy Cartwright, the first female mathematician FRS, the first woman to receive the Sylvester Medal, the first woman to receive the LMS De Morgan Prize and the first female President of the LMS. The aim is to celebrate the achievements of distinguished women mathematicians; previous speakers include previous LMS Presidents Dame Frances Kirwan and Caroline Series, and current President Ulrike Tillmann.

Information on previous Mary Cartwright Lectures can be found here.

Forthcoming Mary Cartwright Lectures will be advertised on the LMS homepage.

More information on Society events is available here.