Cecil King Travel Scholarships

The London Mathematical Society administers two £6,000 travel awards funded by the Cecil King Memorial Foundation for early career mathematicians, to support a period of study or research abroad, typically for a period of three months. One Scholarship will be awarded to a mathematician in any area of mathematics and one to a mathematician whose research is applied in a discipline other than mathematics. 

Eligibility Criteria and How to Apply

Applicants should be mathematicians in the United Kingdom or the Republic of Ireland who are registered for a doctoral degree or have completed one within 12 months of the closing date for applications. The LMS encourages applications from groups under-represented in UK mathematics, including from women, disabled, Black, Asian and Minority Ethnic candidates mathematicians.

To apply, please complete the application form and include a written proposal describing the intended programme of study or research abroad, and the benefits to be gained from such a visit.

The application deadline was closed on 15 November 2022.


Shortlisted applicants will be invited to an online interview in January 2023 during which they will be expected to make a short (10-15 minute) presentation on their proposal, followed by 15-20 minutes for questions. 


Queries may be addressed to Fellowships@lms.ac.uk

Previous Scholarship Holders

Year Recipient    
2001 Kevin Costello 2015   Marcus Webb
2002 Toby Gee 2016 Brendan Nolan
2003 Caucher Birkar 2017 Scott Harper
2004 Anna Mills 2018 Simon Crawford
2005 Alexander Paulin 2019 Rachael Boyd
2006 Malcolm Bovey 2020 Matthew Colbrook
2007 Michael Wemyss 2020 Andrew Graham
2008 Matthew Morrow 2021 Ilia Gauir
2009 Gwyn Bellamy 2021 Anastasia Ignatieva
2010 Erik Pickett 2022

Prachi Sahjwani

2011 Jessica Banks 2022

Valentin Kunz

2012 Stephen Scully    
2013 Andrew MacPherson    
2014 Jack Shotton